“The Extra Mile” Award

Any teacher who taught full-time during the present school year in the Barnesville Area Schools is eligible for nomination for the George G. Skinner & Lela Skinner Bailey Teaching Development Award also known as the "Extra Mile Award." Those schools include, Barnesville Public Schools and Olney Friends School.

No teacher will be eligible for the award more than once in a five-year period.

This years winner was: Matt Johnson  

The winner will receive a cash award of $1,500.00 for professional development and teaching needs. Co-winners will split the award. The purpose of the award is to recognize teachers in the Barnesville School district who have performed above and beyond their responsibilities as educators, or, have gone the "Extra Mile." The award is in memory of George G. Skinner and Lela Skinner Bailey. (both former teachers.)

Anyone can nominate a teacher. Applications can be obtained from any of the schools mentioned above, emailing us at baefoundation@gmail.com or by calling 740-425-3001.